3870

3870 is the name and altitude of a mountain that two friends and I attempted to scale on the first two days in June.  We may have jumped the gun!  Arriving 40 miles west of sunny Nome at  the starting point of our ascent, we were greeted with strong winds and a dusting of snow.  As Andrew, Caleb, and I (plus our dogs, Kilgore, Pie, and Chili) traveled up the slope, the winds and the snow increased as the temperature decreased.  We took a break about 2500 ft up figuring the winds were 40 mph and the temp was around 10 f.  We retreated around the mountain to avoid the winds and camped around 2000 ft up, with hopes of better weather in the morning alloying us to summit 3870.  We froze our biscuits off!  By morning we could care less about reaching the top, and I can honestly say I don’t think I’ve ever broken camp so quickly.  It was a great trip, and I loved every minute of it.  Mark my words “3870” I’ll be back….  but maybe not until July.

5 thoughts on “3870

  1. It was a great trip and I think if we hadn’t been so surprised by the weather and been better equipped to deal with it we would have had a more comfortable trip. Still a fun trip, even though you two beat me at every card game we played.

  2. You guys have had some splendid little adventures lately. Makes me excited to explore some new territory myself.

  3. I’ve been up and down in a day but that was mid-July – the view was beautiful and the day was hot. It’s always so interesting to me how different the weather can be not that far from Nome.

  4. Listen here Mr. Adcox… you’d better update this thing or send out an email the second the cookie comes out of the oven, got it? 🙂 🙂 🙂
    WOOOHOOO I can’t wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

