Spice up life

Traditionally we keep this post as a family journal. Mostly for us as we like to look back and see how the kids have grown and reread of our family adventures we have had together. Mixed into those posts have been the art projects James has completed and what not. Then, it occurred to me that we have never really had a post on things that I do in all my day to day happenings. Well the past 5 days James has been out of town due to work. Whenever he leaves, although I never look forward to it as we all miss him, I usually do find things I normally would not do. Mostly, try new foods that he would not be so fond of and then it keeps me happy as I have things to look forward to, while he is away.  When the kids went down, busy crafting for the Kenai Farmer’s Market starting in a little over a month.  Yikes.

My boys loved oatmeal. I say loved because they are starting to give me troubles when I make it, so I decided to mix it up a bit. Archer loved oatmeal so much, he thought that was the word food was oatmeal.   I should state for the record, I only make it for the boys as I am not a big fan of oatmeal, but it is good for you so I found a recipe I am willing to give a try.  Actually, I found several recipes for overnight oatmeal, which requires no stove top or wait time. Just mix your ingredients the night before and then in the morning when the boys say, “Mom, I am hungry.”  No problem, it is all ready to go.  Here, enjoy!

Here are two sites that got me excited about making these for the kids.  http://danasfoodforthought.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/overnight-oatmeal/ and http://www.pepperlynn.com/2012/02/overnight-oats-two-ways/ .


I was not thinking at the time to do a blog on any of this, otherwise I would have taken a picture of the boys eating creamy avocado pasta.  This was so quick and easy.  Under 15 minutes total to make this recipe.  Archer liked it, Justice well now if he does not like something he will only eat it if I feed him.  I am okay with this as before forget it, so this way he is eating with us.  Anyway the picture of them eating this would have been cute because it is like eating spaghetti  only their mouths were bright green.  Here is where I found the creamy avocado pasta  recipe http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/creamy-avocado-pasta/

Lastly, while James was gone, we had the neighbor twin girls over to play and I was in the mood to make an extra special treat.  I own an adorable tea set given to me by my wonderful friend Angela and I had never used it until today. Now I want to use them all the time.  I made cinnamon rolls inside the tea cups.  It is a simple thing, but it made my day.

James may have been away, but we played and played and managed to have a pretty good time, with all things considered.

2 thoughts on “Spice up life

  1. THAT IS SO CUTE AMY!!!! Did you actually bake the cinnamon rolls in there? Because I have a tea set similar to that and I didn’t know you COULD. 🙂 So cool!

Leave a Reply

