Spring Whale Harvest

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First, pardon our lack of blog updating.  We really have no excuse.  Anyway, this post is long overdue.  I am pleased to present a labor of love and the largest oil painting I have completed to date titled Spring Whale Harvest (Tryptich).  This painting measures 27′ x 6.5′ from edge to edge and was commissioned by the beautiful new Norton Sound Regional Hospital.  This project began about a year ago, starting with penciled  designs followed by more refined color studies.  The panels were then constructed, primed, and mounted in my studio space.  Once in place I was able to start drawing in the images using black paint.  Due to the number of figures in the painting, this took several days longer than other projects of equal size.  I then built up the background, before concentrating on painting in my characters.  Several times during this period, little Archer would clumsily open the studio door and announce, ” Papa painting people”.  This became our saying for a while.  The final step in the completion of the paintings was applying three coats of  a protective finish.

In November, I traveled to Nome to install the artwork with a good friend of mine, C.O..  Upon arriving we picked up our transportation, which was a side-by-side ATV, and met with another close friend, who helped with installation, Autumn.  Between the three of us we worked out the logistical hiccup of getting the artwork from Lynden air cargo to the hospital about two miles away.  To my great satisfaction, the artwork arrived unmarred, not even a scuff.  We went to work for about a week, painting the wall, mounting the work, framing the artwork, and finally mounting the rope barrier in place.  I felt privileged to be apart of such a wonderful new building in Nome.  This painting is dedicated to the attentive staff of the Norton Sound Regional Hospital and the communities they serve.

I would also like to extend a big thank you to all those who made this project possible:  C.O. Rudstrom, Autumn Falls, Eric Arneson, Chad Waggoner, Matt Robinson, The Solodtna Bible Chapel’s Care and Share group, Tom Mute, Charles Marble, Peter and Angela Hansen, Nate Hobbs, the owner’s reps and hospital construction crews, and to many more- Thank You. Also a special thanks to my loving wife and muse, Amy. You always give me the great ideas.

Priming my side panels.

Priming my side panels.

My panels mounted on the wall.  The boys liked to take rides on my little scaffolding.

My panels mounted on the wall. The boys liked to take rides on my little scaffolding.

The drawing begins.  this is one of my most enjoyable parts of painting a mural.

The drawing begins. this is one of my most enjoyable parts of painting a mural.

My studio space moved and so did the painting.  Thanks guys.

My studio space moved and so did the painting. Thanks guys.

With the background completed, I began painting the figures.

With the background completed, I began painting the figures.

A detail of one of my focal characters.

A detail of one of my focal characters.

Yeah! the middle painting is completed.

Yeah! the middle painting is completed.

With all painting completed it was time to travel to Nome.  Here is a before shot of the wall.

With all painting completed it was time to travel to Nome. Here is a before shot of the wall.

We began by painting the wall.

We began by painting the wall.

The dusty orange color was selected to help set off the painting, and I was pleased that it complimented the hospital interior nicely.

The dusty orange color was selected to help set off the painting, and I was pleased that it complimented the hospital interior nicely.

The paintings were then mounted to the wall, keeping the plastic covering on.

The paintings were then mounted to the wall, keeping the plastic covering on.

C.O. hard at work.

C.O. hard at work.

Next, was the framing.  Working 10 years as a custom framer, this was the largest frame I have ever built.

Next, was the framing. Working 10 years as a custom framer, The middle painting has the largest frame I have ever built.

With the frames mounted, we began touch-ups and cleaning.

With the frames mounted, we began touch-ups and cleaning.

With the rope barrier installed, and clean up done the project was completed.  I couldn't have asked for a better crew.

With the rope barrier installed, and clean up done the project was completed. I couldn’t have asked for a better crew.

The completed mural!

The completed mural!

2 thoughts on “Spring Whale Harvest

Leave a Reply

